Home
Reviews

Reviews of Inn on the Green

The following are extracts from letters and emails sent by our customers:

2012

I live in Ockley and had never been to the Inn on the green until I decided to choose a pub as venue for my birthday party. I was surprised when I realised they had such a lovely back back garden. Paul the landord was very accomodating with our requirements as we wanted to have a private function, we secured the back garden and the conservatory area.
On the day, they were very helpful with everything, I had bought a bday cake and they kindly put it all together and everything looked just as I had planned. Food was a m a z i n g! All my guests with no exceptions were very complimentary of the food, the steaks were cooked to perfection in the bbq, they really made my day very special and hassle free! I would do it again tomorrow if I could!! thank you to all the staff for being so friendly too! Lisey June 2012

2011

Dear Paul, Wife, Dog and Staff  
Can I say what a fantastic day and evening we had last night.  Obviously watching one of your best friends get married is always a sheer joy and privilege, but it does make you hungry and thirsty!  So thank you for feeding us, the food was far beyond our expectations and the chips were to die for!  I know how much hard work goes into making an evening like that so please pass on my thanks to all the staff who made us feel so very welcome and created such a friendly atmosphere.
 
On a more personal note I must mention my beloved Bill in his wheelchair.  Bill is actually a strapping 6ft bloke with a crippling bone disease.  The slightest knock is very painful and if he fell over would probably fracture some bone ( take you pick !).  So before this weekend I was slightly anxious about caring for him during the reception at your venue.  I anticipated a very close, crowded and potentially dangerous environment.  No worries!  You looked after us so well, everyone was very helpful, ramps were offered, people moved out of the way and i cant remember how many times you and your staff opened the door for us.  All these small acts of kindness meant that i could relax knowing that other people were watching out for him.  It made my job last night of caring for him very easy and for that i am enormously grateful to you all.  
I wish you all a successful year and who knows what events will transpire that may bring me to your pub again!
   
kind regards    
Julia " whoops i forgot to pay " Stracy
 Sept 2011

2010

Perfect Wedding Day

We pop in to this pub and restaurant every now and then to eat and drink as it is pretty local for us. We have attended several functions here and have never been disappointed. So, when we booked our Wedding date we knew exactly where to head to have our reception party. From the planning stages through to the actual day Paul and Gwen could not have been more helpful and accommodating, nothing was too much trouble and they had many helpful tips from their extensive experience to share with us.
On the day itself Paul, Gwen and the team excelled themselves, making the whole venue absolutely beautiful. We had welcome drinks followed by photographs in the beautiful garden, a three course sit down meal in the afternoon and a huge party with a buffet for 200 guests in the evening. The food was second to none, all freshly prepared by the talented chefs. All of our guests have commented on the quantity and quality of what was served, and the fact that the food was all served together, on time and was piping hot - a hard task to achieve! The bar staff were very friendly and worked so hard to keep our guests served throughout the day and evening - nothing was too much trouble for them, and everything was served efficiently, with a smile and time for a chat. This restaurant/pub is ideal for a large function with plenty of room to provide both the rocking disco area we required and more restful, less noisy areas to retreat to.
The main wedding party stayed overnight in the very comfortable en-suite accommodation and enjoyed a plentiful, freshly prepared and served continental breakfast in the morning before departing for home.
We cannot recommend this venue highly enough whether you are wanting a relaxing drink, a quality meal, a function or bed and breakfast accommodation. Of course, being local we will be returning to be 'looked after' again as soon as we return from our Honeymoon! We will always be grateful to Paul, Gwen and their team for making our wedding such an enjoyable and memorable experience!

Brilliant - down to the last detail!

On Saturday, May 9th 2009, landlord & landlady Paul and Gwyneth hosted our wedding reception.

Without question, I have to say that they and their dedicated, clever chefs and staff gave us the most wonderful day - and the food was amazing.

From our seated lunch in the afternoon for thirty five people and the fabulous buffet in evening for one hundred and twenty, - to the lovely en suite bedrooms and our full English breakfasts on the following morning, the food and service was beyond fantastic.

All the food was created and cooked "in house" and we cannot say a big enough Thank You to Paul, Gwyneth and their brilliant staff for making our day so special.

Our home is twelve miles from The Inn on the Green, but we will definitely be making this great pub and restaurant our "local" from now on.

See you soon Paul and Gwyneth!!

Hayley and Gareth

I have just held my wedding reception at The Inn on The Green and it was amazing from start to finish and they made my day the happiest day of my life, nothing was too much trouble and i cant thank them all enough.
We had a sit down meal for 55 people which was one of the best meals i have ever had - everyone at the wedding was so impressed and we received so many good words from guests about how incredible the venue, staff and food was. In the evening we had around 150 people and still everything went so smoothly The staff at The Inn on The Green went way over and above any expectations i had i seriously cant thank them enough for giving me the happiest day of my life - i would HIGHLY recommend this hotel/bar/restaurant to EVERYONE as i guarantee you wont be disappointed, i just cant wait to go back again now.

Thanks Paul

 

Hi Paul,

One last email to say thank you very much indeed for all your hard work on our behalf last night - we had a fabulous time, the party was everything we had hoped for and more besides. Everyone I spoke to was having a great time and many of them commented on what a lovely pub it is. Please will you also pass on our thanks to your wife, and also to the chef and bar team - many people mentioned how great they all were.

With very best wishes,
Kitty & Ian

Dear all,
My husband, daughter, two and a half year old grandson and I came for a meal at your Inn yesterday lunch time. My daughter Julie had been before, and told us how lovely it was, but I was so pleased at how relaxed it was to have a meal with the little one. No nagging him to come here, he was able to visit the fish tank, play on the sensible equipment you have for the children, while we enjoyed a superb meal. Most meals are still quite fraught with having to pay attention to Dylan, so ~THANK YOU very much. We will certainly be visiting you again in the very near future.
Cyndy and family

Good morning Paul,
I would just like to say a big thank you for all your and your staffs help on Saturday, it was a great day and the food and service were fantastic!!!! The day was enjoyed by all of my family and friends. Many thanks again and I am sure we will continue to us the Inn on the Green..... Kindest Regards Tonia x

HI Paul,
Thank you ever so much for a really great night. Me, my partner, his brother and Tigger enjoyed our time at the pub. The food was fantastic, it is nice to find a pub which has home cooked food, rather than the microwave type and good value for money. I have passed on your website to my work colleagues here at Frimley. Are you doing anything for Father’s day? Would it be possible to book a table for 5?
Fantastic owners, fantastic pub, excellent food = Brilliant night out.
Claire

Family Meal - Saturday 15th May
Hi,
A belated thank you to the management and staff who made us feel very welcome on Saturday night.
The service, the quality, and presentation of the meals was excellent and very much appreciated by all of us. It was a good idea to give you advance notice of the Main Courses required, as they were served up collectively and nobody had to wait for others to receive their meal, remarkable given that you had other guests dining at the same time.
I was totally surprised by the fact that there were nine different main courses chosen from only ten diners, and even though I enjoyed my selection, I was looking at all the others thinking maybe next time. This was the first time we had ventured out to eat as a Family group, for the last twenty years or so, our Wives have taken it in turns to cater for us all, but now given the increase in numbers of family it is totally unrealistic to expect them to cater for such numbers nowadays, after all, they should be allowed to enjoy the meal etc. as much as the rest of us.
We have put a review on the Dorking restaurants web-site where we found your restaurant and once again, many thanks for the evening and I am sure we will be returning either in small groups or collectively sometime in the future.
Regards, Ken & Marion

2009

Last Saturday, May 9th 2009, landlord & landlady Paul and Gwyneth hosted our wedding reception.
Without question, I have to say that they and their dedicated, clever chefs and staff gave us the most wonderful day - and the food was amazing. From our seated lunch in the afternoon for thirty five people and the fabulous buffet in evening for one hundred and twenty, - to the lovely en suite bedrooms and our breakfasts on the following morning, the food and service was beyond fantastic. All the food was created and cooked "in house" and we cannot say a big enough Thank You to Paul, Gwyneth and their brilliant staff for making our day so special.
Our home is twelve miles from The Inn on the Green, but we will definitely be making this great pub and restaurant our "local" from now on. See you soon Paul and Gwyneth!! With best regards Dave and Mafra.

2008

Dear Paul and Gwyn,
We came to you for a couple of nights 5th and 6th of August for our 25 wedding anniversary.
We would like to thank you for your hospitality, good food, this coupled with a nice relaxing atmosphere and great staff  it was all worth it.
We were both made to feel welcome and nothing was to much trouble.
We will return soon.
Once again thank you.
Best wishes John and Margaret

Food was excellent we returned from our trip away and had lunch as well, which made breakfast, lunch and dinner all were superb. Room a bit on the basic side but for the money that was expected and not a problem. Beer was great as was the service, i was even allowed to leave my car for the weekend. S Lawrence on 17 Jun 2008

We took two friends here 2 days ago, and the service was excellent and very attentive. It was a Friday, and surprisingly quiet, but the restaurant was impeccably clean, and the food just as we'd ordered.
It has a big car park, but this is a few yards north, and there are spaces opposite the pub - a good idea.
We'll go again, and highly recommend it. 11 May 2008

Took my mother and the entire family here for dinner the other night to celebrate her birthday, was a lovely evening made all the more pleasurable by the great food and the excellent service! Thanks and keep up the good work. 2 May 2008

Can't fault this place at all! Great pub, brilliant food, nice atmosphere!! Well worth a visit. April 2008

2007

I wanted to thank you all for a wonderful evening. Having found such a great place I know we will be back soon. The food was top class, the restaurant fitted our needs perfectly!
S.Gardiner February 2007

2006

Just a note to thank you for an excellent meal and service last Sunday. The waitress was wonderful and the food... ...was cooked to perfection. We will certainly recommend you to any friends who may visit the area and will definitely come back to visit you ASAP.
Mr & Mrs C. Holmes 29th August 2006

Thank you so much for your hospitality during our stay this week. We really enjoyed our visit... ...fabulous food, excellent service and a comfortable room. We hope your success goes from strength to strength.
Mr & Mrs D. Sacks 5th August 2006

I would like to thank you all for making my birthday celebration so special. Thanks to the chef for the super food and to all the staff for looking after my family and friends so well.

Thank you very much to everybody at the Inn On The Green for making the evening such a success...

Thanks for the truly EXCELLENT dinner last night. I enjoyed every mouthful.

Dear Paul, Gwyneth and the wonderful staff, Thank you for everything. Everything was just perfect. We'll visit again soon.


 


The Inn On The Green has been awarded a
Food Hygiene Rating of 5/5
5 star food hygiene
We are very proud of our
food hygiene rating of 5 stars.
If you are interested in finding out more about the ratings scheme and to find out what other pubs/restaurants ratings are in the Mole Valley please follow this link.

cask marque